Posted by: Bonnie | October 23, 2007

Glimpses of Odessa, Ukraine

courtyard-odessa.jpg

Odessa, Ukraine. This is a typical courtyard in Odessa.

These pictures give you a glimpse of what Odessa, Ukraine, looked like when we arrived in 1996. Since then, the city has undergone major rebuilding and refurbishing, and parts of it are really gorgeous. I will show the contrast in another post. 

mailboxes-in-odessa.jpg

Typical mailboxes outside the apartment buildings in Odessa, Ukraine.

scene-of-odessa.jpg

Another picture of a courtyard

odessa-ukraine.jpg

Apartment home

odessa-door.jpg

Open door from a street in Odessa

We found the people’s hearts to be just as open and beautifully intricate and receptive as this door.


Responses

  1. I love Odessa, it is one of my all time favorite cities. I am glad to see even a few pictures. It reminds me of the people there who treated my friends and I with such hospitality. Thanks.

  2. Glad you enjoyed the pictures. The Soviet people are amazing. I miss not being there.

    Bonnie

  3. there is something about eastern european/slavik nations & sites that i just love. I love how it all looks!

  4. Sarah, I hope you will get to experience it someday. You have so much to give.

    Bonnie

  5. […] Glimpses of Odessa, UkraineThese pictures give you a glimpse of what Odessa, Ukraine, looked like when we arrived in 1996. Since then, the city has undergone major rebuilding and refurbishing, and parts of it are really gorgeous. I will show the contrast in … […]

  6. Looking at these pictures reminds me of my time spent there. The outside view may be not that nice, but the inside has buitiful life streaming…

  7. Stass,

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! We think of you often and appreciate our time together. Your assistance to my husband was invaluable. How are you?

    Bonnie


Leave a comment

Categories